Meet the New Coaches

Q&A with new golf coach, Pat Rafferty

CoachRafferty

Pat Rafferty, CWC’s new golf coach.

Q: What is your past experience with golf, were you a competitor?
A: At Northwest College where I went to school, they had a golf team and I played there, but I have been a passionate golfer since I was a kid.

Q: When will the new golf season start?
A: Next fall we will have two to four events to give us some competition before the start of the spring regionals and nationals.

Q: What interests you in coaching?
A: My father and uncles were all coaches. I grew up around it. I saw the relationships and bonds my dad had with many of his players.

Q: Which athletes inspire you?
A: In a way, all athletes. I have a great sense of appreciation for all the hard work, discipline, drive and commitment athletes have for their sport. Im also inspired by coaches like Vince Lombardi and Tom Landry.

Q: What do your athletes call you?
A: Coach, Coach Raf or Coach Rafferty. One thing I think is important is the distinction that I am friendly, but we are not friends.I require a lot from my athletes and there is a lot of hard work and discipline involved. I have their best in mind, not just as athletes but as people.

Q: What are you goals for a first season?
A: We want to be good. More than competitive.

Q: What do you think makes a good golf competitor?
A: Golf requires so much mentally. It takes 8/10ths of a second to hit a golf shot, but there is so much leading up to that moment. It takes mental focus and concentration.

Q: What is a fun fact about yourself?
A: I am a big fan of the show “Family Guy.”


 

Q&A with new cross country coach, Al Lara

Al_trackCoack

Al Lara, CWC’s new cross country coach

Q: What is your past experience with cross country, were you a competitor?
A: I started running in the 8th grade. I went out for cross-country and at my first race I got beat by three girls and quit. I decided to train all summer, then went out for the team in the 9th grade. I worked hard at it and became the number one man. Big Improvement.
I competed in high school,  then junior college and then at Fresno State. After college I continued to compete in road races. I was sponsored by Nike for three years and traveled the country competing at a high level.
I have run between 22 and 24 marathons with a personal record of 2:20. I don’t compete anymore, but I still run everyday.

Q: When will the new cross country season start?
A: August 1 is when practice starts. The first meet will be in early September.

Q: What interests you in coaching?
A: I can’t compete anymore so this is a way of extending my passion for running. That and I want to work with kids and see them excel.

Q: Which athletes inspire you?
A: Alberto Salazar. He is a – time New York Marathon champion and Boston Marathon champion. He is my idol. I got the chance to run against him in college and I beat him. I beat him in the half marathon in my hometown of Fresno. Now we are friends. He coaches at an Olympic level- a world class runner. I admire that he is taking his talents and giving back.

Q: What do/will your athletes call you?
A: I  would like to just be, Coach.

Q: What are you goals for a first season?
A: First season is to get enough guys and girls to have a full team.

Q: What do you think makes a good cross country competitor?
A: The will to train hard enough. To give everything you can in practice – that is the only way you are going to excel. My coaches always had us work hard. If you want to be the best, you have to work hard.

Q: What is your coaching style?
A: I want respect, and I am going to respect them. I want the athlete to trust that what I am doing is right.

Q: What is a fun fact about yourself?
I love comedy! Comedy relaxes you after a long day!

One thought on “Meet the New Coaches

Leave a Reply

